BalintANZ Board 2022-23

Daniel Brass - President
Melbourne VIC

Daniel is a psychiatrist and psychotherapist in private practice. He first participated in a Balint group as a first-year medical student and has been leading Balint groups since 2019.

Swapnil Sharma - Vice President
Sydney NSW

Swapnil is a Consultant-Liaison Psychiatrist and Psychotherapist in public and private practice. He has been leading Balint Groups for psychiatry registrars and other health care professionals since 2017 and supervises a registrar led Balint Group for medical students.

Meredith Waugh - Secretary
Gold Coast Qld

Meredith is a social worker, psychologist and psychoanalytic psychotherapist in part-time private practice. She first participated in a Balint group at the Hobart Intensive Workshop in 2017 and has been leading Balint groups since 2021. Currently, she is on the Leadership Accreditation Pathway.

Nish Jayarajan - Treasurer
Brisbane Qld

Nish works as an Adult Psychiatrist across the public and private sector. He currently leads Balint groups for interns, senior health care professionals and medical students

 Di Nash - Immediate Past President
Auckland NZ

Sheila O'Neill - Member
Canberra ACT

Sheila has a background in General Practice with a particular interest in women’s health. Her current focus is on medical education and the doctor/patient relationship. She first participated in a Balint group in 1998 with Gregorio Kohon and has been co-leading online Balint groups for GPs since 2020.

Tamara Holmes - Member
Warrnambool VIC

Tamara is a Social Work Academic at Deakin University. She was introduced to Balint in 2015 and has been leading Balint groups since this time. She is passionate about Balint work and feels privileged to be a witness to the many stories explored.